Parent Directory
 Forum Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Naysan Mojgani

USA
3 Posts

Posted - 10/29/2012 :  18:25:05  Show Profile
I'm new to StrokesPlus. Love it. When I migrated to Chrome from Opera, I tried several extensions to recreate the built in gestures from Opera. Now that I've moved on to using StrokesPlus, though, I'm trying, yet again, to recreate those browser gesture functions that I've grown used to.
The only one that I'm having trouble with is navigating to the parent directory of a webpage. It's most useful when browsing directory listings, but it comes in handy with many other websites as well.
So, I guess I'm looking for a way to grab the url, drop the end (everything after the last slash), and resend it to the browser? I tried checking Chrome shortcut keys to see if there was a built-in command to "go to parent directory" without any luck. It's kind of standard issue it seems for the Chrome extensions I've tried, so I feel that there must be either a hidden command for it that Chrome recognizes, or the implementation shouldn't be too difficult. But, it's definitely beyond my comfort level. Any help would be really appreciated. Thanks!

Rob

USA
2615 Posts

Posted - 10/29/2012 :  18:47:41  Show Profile  Visit Rob's Homepage
Does this work for you?
acSendKeys("%d") --change to address bar
acDelay(150)
acSendKeys("^c") --copy the URL
acDelay(150)
local sTemp = acGetClipboardText() --get the URL from the clipboard
acSetClipboardText(string.reverse(string.sub(string.reverse(sTemp),string.find(string.reverse(sTemp), "/", 1),string.len(sTemp)))) --set the clipboard to the parent directory
acDelay(150)
acSendKeys("%d") --check to the address bar
acDelay(150)
acSendKeys("^v") --paste the modified URL
acDelay(150)
acSendKeys("~") --press Enter